Sharing Documents and Photos with Google Drive

Google Drive allows you to share or send files and documents to others.
Sharing a file with an email address or mailing list
If you have a document you would like to send to someone or have some edit, use the Share feature:

  1. Sign in to your email account, then click Drive or Documents in the upper right corner of your email screen.
  2. Check the box next to the file or folder you'd like to share.
  3. Click the Share icon OR Click the More menu and select "Share..."
  4. Choose a visibility option: "Private," "Anyone with the link" or "Public on the web."
  5. Type the email addresses of the people you want to share with in the text box below "Add people." You can add a single person, a mailing list, or choose from your contacts.
  6. Choose the access you wish to give each person viewing the file you are sending. Do you want to let them have full access to make changes (Can Edit), or just be able to view the file (Can View). If you want the recipient to leave comments on the file, select Can Comment
  7. Click Share & save.

Send a link to a shared file

If you have a large file or a series of files would would like to send to a recipient, use the Send Link feature:
  1. Sign in to your email account, then click Drive or Documents in the upper right corner of your email screen.
  2. Check the box next to the file or folder you'd like to share.
  3. Click the Share icon OR click the More menu and select Share...
  4. Copy the link at the top of the sharing settings (highlight and press CTRL-C).
  5. Paste the link into an email or chat window (press CTRL-V).


Tips for sharing in Google Drive

Notify people when you share something
Whenever you share something with someone they’ll receive an email notification to let them know they have access and can retrieve what you shared the next time they sign into their Google Drive. Prefer not to notify them? Uncheck the "Notify people via email" box.

Share lots of files and Google Docs at once
If you want to share multiple items with your collaborators, move them into a folder and share the folder with them. This applies permission to access any files in the folder.

Add Feedback